Backing up the Library


Syncing Content Between Devices

Though you can create a manual backup copy of your library as directed in the sections below, you can very easily access your library content between your computers and devices when running the latest software.

This includes both content you've obtained from Silhouette (such as content from the Silhouette Design Store or promotional content such as free designs received with machines) AND user-created content (such as designs you have created and saved into the library).

To sync content between computers and devices:

Open Silhouette Studio on your original computer Go to the Library Go to the "User Designs" folder (or other folder locations where you may have saved designs into the library) and confirm the sync status for any of your user-created content A checkmark icon under the thumbnail indicates it is synced An "X" icon under the thumbail indicates it is not synced A lock icon indicates it is from Silhouette and cannot be adjusted. It will be synced. Click on the icon under the thumbnail to toggle the sync status, as desired Once you have all content set to sync as desired, open Silhouette Studio on your new computer Go to the Library Sign into the same Silhouette account as your original computer If needed, you can click on the name listed at the top of the library and select "Add User" Click on the "Sync" button in the bottom left-hand corner of the Library panel

Finding Your Software Version

If you would like to create a manual backup of your library, you will first need to determine which version of Silhouette Studio you are using. The software version information can be found as follows:

Open the Silhouette Studio software Select the Silhouette Studio menu (Mac) or Help menu (PC) Select the option for About Silhouette Studio…

The version number will be listed after “Silhouette Studio … Release” (Example: "3.6.202")

Backing Up the Library - Version 4.1 or higher

The create a manual backup of your library:

Open Silhouette Studio Go to the Library Select the user name in the upper-left corner Select Library Export Choose the file location to save to your computer

The library export may take some time depending on the size of the library being exported.

IMPORTANT: Do not close the software or allow your computer to go to sleep during the library export process.

Backing Up the Library - Version 3.7 to 4.0

The create a manual backup of your library:

Open Silhouette Studio Go to the Library Right-click ([Ctrl]+click for Mac) on your email address and select Export [your email]… Choose the file location to save to your computer

The library export may take some time depending on the size of the library being exported.

⚠ IMPORTANT: Do not close the software or allow your computer to go to sleep during the library export process.

Backing Up the Library - Version 3.6 or lower

The create a manual backup of your library:

Open Silhouette Studio Select File > Library > Export Library… Choose the file location to save to your computer

The library export may take some time depending on the size of the library being exported.

⚠ IMPORTANT: Do not close the software or allow your computer to go to sleep during the library export process.