There is a difference between "updating" (which provide updates for the software from version to version) and "upgrading" (which is moving from the basic Standard Edition to any higher level Edition, such as the Designer Edition or Business Edition).
Software updates are provided from time-to-time to enhance certain capabilities and fix bugs. These updates will be applied automatically if you select the "Check for Updates" option in the Silhouette Studio software program.
Software upgrades can be purchased to unlock additional features.
NOTE: If you are running Silhouette Studio with an upgraded edition, such as the Designer Edition or Business Edition, updating the software will not remove or effect your license key.