Frequently Asked Questions

Silhouette Capabilities >> Silhouette Studio® software >> Missing Designs and Cloud Library Issues

Missing Designs and Cloud Library Issues

printer friendly

If you are missing designs from your cloud library, please first follow the instructions listed here to retrieve them, http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/faq/solution/recovering-download-content

The following cases and steps are designed to assist with futher concerns regarding your cloud library, after steps from the above link have been followed. These issues are best described by the icon displayed inside the cloud next to your email address.

The possible icons which can be displayed, as well as their meanings, are listed below:

  • Green Check = Sync Complete
  • Blue Spinning Circle = Syncing
  • Red X = Signed out
  • Plug = No connection to server
  • Triangle/Exclamation Point = Error

If you are seeing a "triangle with an exclamation point" icon, please mouse over the icon to display an error code number. Please see the error codes section below for a list of common codes and steps.

If you are seeing any error code that is not explained below, or if any of the steps below do not resolve the concern, please contact the Support Team via email, support@silhouetteamerica.com, or chat on www.silhouetteamerica.com

 

If your cloud icon displays a blue spinning circle, this indicates your cloud is syncing. If this icon does not resolve to a green check, but continues spinning, this may indicate an inability to properly sync with the cloud. Please perform the steps below to resolve this error:

Note: While these steps may have been performed previously, we have seen a high rate of success resolving this issue by removing the cloud user entirely and re-adding. Please perform these steps once more to ensure the best course of action has been taken fully.

  1. Open the Silhouette Studio® software
  2. Select the LIBRARY icon
  3. Right-click on your [user-name] Cloud Library folder
  4. Select the option “Remove [user-name]”
  5. Close the Silhouette Studio software completely
  6. Re-open the Silhouette Studio software
  7. Select the Library icon
  8. Right-click in the open area at the bottom of the Library folders pane
  9. Select “Add User”
  10. Provide authentication details to sign in

If this is not successful, please continue again with the following steps:

  1. Select the FILE menu > Silhouette Design Store
  2. Sign-in to the Silhouette Design Store
  3. Select your name in the upper-right to open the Account Tools page
  4. Select the option to Recover All Downloaded Designs
  5. Select the option to Find and Sync Missing Items
  6. Authenticate to authorize the download

If your cloud icon is displaying a Red X, this status indicates you are not currently signed in to the Silhouette Cloud. If you are signed out, your recently redeemed or purchased content will not automatically download to your library. Please perform the following steps to resolve:

  1. Right-click on the Cloud Icon
  2. Select “Sign-in to [your username]”
  3. Authenticate using your Silhouette Design Store credentials

The plug icon indicates that the connection between your device and our Cloud server has been interrupted. Typically, this is a local issue caused by a weaker internet connection or by another program on the computer interfering with the connection, such as antivirus or firewall.

After confirming that you have an active, strong internet connection, if continuing issues are experienced, please temporarily disable any antivirus or firewall programs on the computer. If you would prefer, you can access those programs and Allow Silhouette Studio to access the internet without interruption.

This code would indicate that you have exceeded the allotted number of synced devices. Our cloud server allows a maximum of 10 active devices at one time, as well as a maximum of 50 registered devices total.

To remedy this concern, you will need to deactivate unused/unwanted to devices to allow the desired device to connect. To do so, please follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Silhouette Studio® software
  2. Select the FILE menu > Silhouette Design Store
  • Sign-in to the Silhouette Design Store
  • Select your name in the upper-right to open the Account Tools page
  • Select the option to Manage Cloud Devices
  • Select Deactivate next to any device that is no longer in use

This would indicate that you have exceeded the allotted storage space of the cloud library. The cloud allows a maximum of 1GB or 5GB of storage, depending on your membership status. To remedy this concern, you will need to remove some of the user content you have saved in the cloud library (under your email address). Once removed, you may right-click the email address and select Sync.

If you currently have a maximum of 1GB of storage, you may upgrade to a 5GB maximum with a Silhouette Design Store Subscription or Club Silhouette Membership. For more information, please visit, http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/faq/solution/silhouette-design-store-subscriptions or http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/faq/solution/club-silhouette-overview

This error typically indicates an issue with the Email Address and/or Password used to sign in to the cloud. Please follow the steps below to resolve this:

  1. Open the Silhouette Studio® software
  2. Right-click on your cloud email address
  3. Select the option “Remove“
  4. Right-click in the open area at the bottom of the Library folders pane
  5. Select “Add User”
  6. Carefully authenticate with your Silhouette account email address and password

There are two types of images that cannot be moved between the Local User and Cloud User sections:

  • Pre-loaded content allotted with the purchase of a Silhouette cutting machine
  • Content obtained from the Silhouette Design Store

The Pre-loaded content allotted with the purchase of a Silhouette machine is automatically downloaded to the Local User section of the library and cannot be moved to the cloud. All pre-loaded content can be rearranged within the Local User section folders. 

Content obtained from the Silhouette Design Store  is automatically downloaded to the Cloud library, Recent Downloads section, and cannot be moved to the Local User. All Silhouette content can be rearranged within the Cloud section folders. 

If you have recently updated to a Cloud Library version of Silhouette Studio, your folder structure within the library will remain quite similar, but may have experienced slight changes as your User Design content remains in your Local User section and all Silhouette content moves to the Cloud. This allows you to decide how much of your content you would like stored in the Silhouette Cloud.

Any content listed in the Local User section can be moved to the Cloud User section by dragging and dropping. Any content moved in this manner will be synced with the Silhouette Cloud and available on any Silhouette Cloud-enabled device. New folders can be created by right-clicking on Library then New Folder.

If your folders are missing entirely, please follow the steps below:

  1. Close any instances of the Silhouette Studio® software
  2. Visit https://www.silhouetteamerica.com/software and update to the latest version of the Silhouette Studio® software
  3. Open the Silhouette Studio® software
  4. Click on the File menu at the top left corner
  5. Click Update Library
Did you find this helpful?

Why was this FAQ not helpful? (select all that apply)




( characters remaining)
Note: This information is only collected to improve the quality of our FAQs. This form is not monitored for assistance. If you require assistance, please contact support@silhouetteamerica.com